Chicken and Spinach Lasagna

April 2, 2008

img_2024.jpg

Here’s a little variation on classic lasagna. It’s a dish comprised of things I had leftover in the fridge and pantry. I had a bunch of chicken, some baby spinach that needed using up, and 1/2 a large box of lasagna in the cabinet. So out of that came this meal. I prepped it all yesterday on my day off so all I had to do tonight was throw it in the oven. It turned out so amazing! I mean, it was one of those dishes where you could just stand over the pan with a fork taking bite after bite until you made yourself sick, which I may or may not have done. It was really a nice change from regular lasagna. I’ll definitely be making this again.

Chicken and Spinach Lasagna

1 box lasagna noodles, uncooked

2 24 oz jars pasta sauce (or 1 large jar, not sure of the size) (I used Bertolli Five Cheese)

8 oz ricotta cheese

1 egg

1 tsp italian seasoning

2 chicken breasts

1 cup mozzarella cheese

2 cups baby spinach, chopped

1/2 a large onion, diced

extra virgin olive oil

Begin by baking the chicken breasts at 375 until done, about 25 min. Shred into bite size pieces. Set aside. In a skillet, add 1-2 Tbsp olive oil and add the onion. Cook 3-5 minutes or until the onion starts to soften. Add the chicken to a skillet with the sauce and heat over low heat until simmering. While the sauce is simmering make the ricotta filling. Mix the ricotta with the egg and stir in the italian seasoning. Set aside. In a baking dish, put a thin layer of the chicken pasta sauce. Next, add a layer of uncooked lasagna noodles. Add another layer of sauce then a layer of the ricotta mixture. Sprinkle one cup of the chopped spinanch over the ricotta. Add another layer of noodles and repeat layers as before. End with a layer of noodles and a layer of sauce. Top with the mozzarella. Cover the dish with foil and place into the preheated 375 degree oven. Bake for 45 minutes, remove the foil and bake an additional 10 minutes.

4 Responses to “Chicken and Spinach Lasagna”

  1. Ally Says:

    That sounds so yummy! And I wish I had some right now!

  2. kayte Says:

    this looks incredible! now i’m craving lasagna!

  3. Amber Says:

    Mmm lasagna sounds really good and that looks excellent!

  4. Annie Says:

    OMG, you have no idea how much Ben will love me for this recipe….because of you 🙂 He’s been asking and asking me to make a chicken lasagna but I hadn’t found a recipe I liked enough and thought I’d have to combine/adapt several. This looks perfect, thanks for saving me some brain power 🙂


Leave a Reply

