Dinner with Friends

August 15, 2009

IMG_0556

Last night we had some friends over for dinner. This is the first time we’ve really been able to have people over since Drew was born so I wanted dinner to be extra yummy.

On the menu:

marinated strip steaks
cheddar mashed potatoes
ceasar salad
garlic cheese bread

IMG_0552

I had seen this recipe for garlic bread on Giada at Home and decided to change it up just a little. It was so delicious and so easy. I will definitely be making my own garlic bread from now on using this recipe. Here’s the recipe as I made it.

Cheddar Garlic Bread

  • 8 ounces sharp cheddar cheese, shredded or coarsely grated
  • 6 ounces butter, at room temperature
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp chopped parsley
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 (1 pound) loaf italian bread
  • Place an oven rack in the center of the oven. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

    In a food processor, combine the cheese and butter. Process until the mixture is smooth. Add the garlic and parsley and pulse until combined. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Spread the cheese mixture on the cut sides of the bread. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes until golden.

    Using a serrated knife, cut the bread into 1-inch thick slices and serve.

    I was also very excited to get out my Kitchen Aid ice cream maker yesterday and try a new recipe from a cookbook I bought the other day, The Perfect Scoop. I have only made ice cream twice before so I decided since I was going to be serving this to friends, I would start with a simple recipe. I chose the cheesecake ice cream but at the last minute decided to make it Oreo cheesecake ice cream. It turned out so well! I’m so glad I decided to add the Oreos. Here is the recipe.

    IMG_0563

    Cheesecake Ice Cream
    (I doubled the following amounts)

    8 oz (230 g) cream cheese
    1 lemon, preferably unsprayed
    1 cup (240 g) sour cream
    1/2 cup (125 ml) half-and-half
    2/3 cup (130 g) sugar
    Pinch of salt

    Cut the cream cheese into small pieces. Zest the lemon directly into a blender or food processor, then add the cream cheese, half-and-half, sugar, and salt, and puree until smooth.

    Chill the mixture thoroughly in the refrigerator, then freeze it in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

    The Perfect Scoop, p. 62-63

    *After removing the ice cream from the ice cream maker, fold in 10 (if doubling the recipe) crushed Oreo cookies. Place the ice cream in the freezer for at least 2 hours before serving.

    Leave a Reply

