Vegetarian Quesadillas

July 27, 2009

IMG_3397

Wrap it in a tortilla and put some cheese on it and it’s probably one of my favorite foods. Since I’ve been home on maternity leave, I’ve had to come up with something for lunch every day. I was getting tired of salads and sandwiches so I decided to rummage through the fridge to see what I could come up with for lunch. I saw some tortillas in the fridge but wasn’t sure if I had anything to go in them. Then I remembered I had a bag of  peppers and onions in the freezer and I also had some mushrooms in the fridge. So from that came the inspiration for my vegetarian quesadilla lunch. It was super delicious and a great change from my usual lunch foods. Not to mention it was really quick to make while the baby was sleeping! I even had time left to eat it. : )

Vegetarian Quesadillas

1 cup thinly sliced bell peppers (any color)
1/2 cup thinly sliced onion
1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
cooking spray
1/2 cup mexican blend cheese, shredded
2 10″ tortillas

Heat a pan over medium heat and spray with non-stick spray. Add veggies and saute until soft, about 10 minutes.  Remove veggies from the pan and place in a bowl. With a damp paper towel wipe out the pan. Spray again with non-stick spray and place one tortilla in the pan. Add 1/2 the cheese and then the sauted veggies on top. Add the other 1/2 of the cheese and top with another tortilla. Allow the tortilla to cook 3-5 minutes. Then carefully flip the quesadilla and allow the other side to cook 3-5 minutes or until golden brown and the cheese is melted. Cut into triangles and serve with sour cream.

Makes 1 large quesadilla.

*Add any veggies you like to this vegetarian quesadilla.

Leave a Reply

