Lemon Pepper Shrimp Scampi

April 17, 2009

001

I’m still around and still pregnant, 7 months to be exact. And even though the baby is still a couple months from arriving, I’m already imagining how my life is going to change, especially when it comes to cooking and baking. My husband asks me every night “so what are you baking tonight?”, to which my response is just a blank stare. He’s used to me baking at least once a week if not more, so I think my lack of baking has been sort of a shock to him. I barely have the energy to make it through work every day and think up something for dinner that isn’t frozen pizza, let alone pull out all the ingredients to bake something. Don’t get me wrong, I want to bake but my body wants me to lie on the couch and eat some store bought ice cream for dessert. And needless to say from the sad state of my blog lately, the ice cream usually wins out over baking.

I have managed this week to cook dinner a couple of times though including this dish. I saw it in the March edition of Cooking Light and earmarked it because A. It looked easy and B. it looked tasty…but mostly A. I already had everything to make it so it was very fast and easy for a weeknight dinner. I toasted up some bread and threw together a salad, because I still feel the need to have some sort of veggie, and voila, dinner! I must say it was pretty good for such an easy meal.

Lemon Pepper Shrimp Scampi

  • 1  cup  uncooked orzo (obviously I subbed spaghetti)
  • 2  tablespoons  chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt, divided
  • 7  teaspoons  unsalted butter, divided
  • 1 1/2  pounds  peeled and deveined jumbo shrimp
  • 2  teaspoons  bottled minced garlic (I used fresh)
  • 2  tablespoons  fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4  teaspoon  black pepper

1. Cook orzo according to package directions, omitting salt and fat. Drain. Place orzo in a medium bowl. Stir in parsley and 1/4 teaspoon salt; cover and keep warm.

2. While orzo cooks, melt 1 tablespoon butter in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Sprinkle shrimp with remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt. Add half of shrimp to pan; sauté 2 minutes or until almost done. Transfer shrimp to a plate. Melt 1 teaspoon butter in pan. Add remaining shrimp to pan; sauté 2 minutes or until almost done. Transfer to plate.

3. Melt remaining 1 tablespoon butter in pan. Add garlic to pan; cook 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Stir in shrimp, juice, and pepper; cook 1 minute or until shrimp are done.

Nutritional Information

Calories:
403
Fat:
10.4g (sat 4.8g,mono 2.2g,poly 1.4g)
Protein:
40.1g
Carbohydrate:
34.7g
Fiber:
1.7g
Cholesterol:
276mg
Iron:
4.3mg
Sodium:
549mg
Calcium:
97mg

David Bonom, Cooking Light, MARCH 2009
2 Responses to “Lemon Pepper Shrimp Scampi”

  1. Kira Says:

    Yum! I have some basil and garlic linguine from Trader Joe’s that this would go really well with.

  2. joelen Says:

    This looks delicious and is one of my fave ways to prepare shrimp!


Leave a Reply

