Chipotle Chicken Tacos

March 20, 2009

img_3278

Wow, it’s been over a month since I last updated my blog! I really have been cooking people, I promise. But being almost 6 months pregnant now, dinner is almost always fast and has pretty much been things that are already in my blog. This was also a quick and easy dinner but I thought I’d post it anyway. I’ve been trying to use up things in my freezer and pantry and this was the perfect answer for dinner a couple nights ago.

On another note, I am very excited that the weather in Alabama is finally starting to warm up and thanks to daylight savings time it’s not dark when I get home every day! So look for lots of grilling posts in the coming weeks now that I have more daylight in the evenings. As I have said before, my husband is not a cook but he LOVES to grill so I’m sure we’ll be doing a lot of that soon. I bought him a couple of grilling cookbooks for Christmas and I’m dying for us to try out some of the recipes.

Chipotle Chicken Tacos

2 chicken breasts, cut into strips (they cook more quickly than whole breasts)
2 Tbsp chipotle seasoning (I used Pampered Chef)
1 Tbsp olive oil
1-2 cloves garlic, chopped
1/4 large onion, diced
1/4 cup prepared salsa

Begin by marinating the chicken in the olive oil, chipotle seasoning, and garlic. Toss to coat chicken and refrigerate for at least 2 hours. Cook the chicken in a skillet with a little more olive oil until done, set aside and shred when cooled. (I use the food processor to shred chicken because it’s so quick! Just pulse until shredded.) In the same skillet add the onions and cook 3-5 minutes, or until they start to become translucent. Add the shredded chicken back to the skillet and stir in salsa. Let heat through. Serve on warm tortillas with lettuce, tomato, cheese, extra salsa, and sour cream.

img_32791

3 Responses to “Chipotle Chicken Tacos”

  1. Kelsey Says:

    These look like a great, tasty weeknight meal. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Laure Says:

    What a flavorful and easy meal! Looks great!

  3. Julie Says:

    Those look really yummy 🙂


Leave a Reply

