At Last!

January 28, 2009

I never thought the day would come when I would have a blog update again. For those who don’t know why I’ve been MIA, I’m pregnant and food in general has not been my friend for the past oh, 16 weeks. For those of you that have been pregnant and know what I’m talking about, bless your heart. For those who haven’t been, bless your heart even more. Our dinners have been consisting of cold cereal, toast, frozen pizza, sandwiches, or whatever did not make me want to hurl on that particular day. My husband has been so great about it, although I’m pretty sure peanut butter and jelly is not on his list of favorite foods anymore.

Well I’m slowly coming out of this funk I’ve been in and I have a little more energy. I was lucky enough to get off work early today so I thought what a perfect day to re-enter the cooking world and make a great dinner. I was looking at the Pioneer Woman’s blog last night and saw this recipe for Ranch Style Chicken. It sounded and looked really good and I had almost everything needed to make it. Plus, it is really easy. Now that’s my kind of recipe! Nothing too hard for my already scattered pregnant brain. I marinated the chicken for about 3 hours, made some simple roasted red potatoes and sauteed some green beans with a little extra virgin olive oil and garlic. And the result…

img_3164

The best dinner I’ve had in a long, long time! I know that’s not saying much given what I’ve been eating but trust me, it was good. I mean, what could really be bad about anything with bacon and cheese? Hopefully this is the beginning of many more blog posts to come!

For the recipe go here–Ranch Style Chicken

Also an apology…I’m so sorry for not following anyone’s blog lately. Now that I’m feeling better I am very much looking forward to catching up on all the great recipes I’ve been missing!

9 Responses to “At Last!”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I’m glad that you are feeling better becuase I agree, this was a GREAT chicken dinner. We LOVED it!

  2. Alissa Says:

    Glad that you are feeling better. How are your pups doing? I just got back after a break from blogging (though I don’t have an excuse).

    By the way, I tagged you from my blog. =)

  3. BMK Says:

    Glad you are feeling better. Hopefully, you are about to enter the want to eat everything in sight phase of pregnancy and you can really enjoy cooking!

  4. Lisa Says:

    I know of like 12 women who are pregnant and due in 09! It’s the year for babies. Glad you’re feeling beter!
    I just made this chicken for dinner tonight, along with a variation of her fluffy new potatoes. LOVED IT!

  5. amanda Says:

    Congratulations on the pregnancy! I’m glad you’re starting to feel better also.

  6. elly Says:

    This looks like a delicious dinner. Obviously you cannot go wrong with anything that has bacon on it. 🙂 So glad you are feeling better!

  7. Melissa Says:

    Looks great! Glad your back =)

  8. joelen Says:

    Glad to see you back to blogging! Your meal looks delicious, especially with that bacon 🙂

  9. dori Says:

    congrats and i’m glad you are feeling better. dont feel bad… i was the same way when i was PG. you’ll notice a 7 month gap in posting for me. if it was in a box, then that was what we ate for 9 months.


Leave a Reply

