Frosty Snowball Cookies

December 21, 2008

img_3109

I really haven’t done much cooking or baking this holiday season. The main reason being…I’m pregnant! 11 weeks today. And while I’m very excited about it, I haven’t had the desire to cook or bake anything in the past few weeks. We’ve been eating a lot of sandwiches and quick meals because I’m just too tired and nothing really sounds good anyway. But I did want to bake some treats for some friends of ours so I mustered up the energy the other night. One of the things I baked were these snowball cookies. I’ve had the recipe saved for a while and thought this would be the perfect opportunity to bake them. It’s an easy recipe and they’re really good!

Frosty Snowballs

Ingredients:
1 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon water
1 teaspoon vanilla
2-1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup chopped pecans
1 cup sifted powdered sugar
Green, pink, and purple edible cake sparkles or colored sugar
Directions:
1. In a large mixing bowl beat butter with an electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add the granulated sugar; beat until combined, scraping sides of bowl occasionally. Beat in water and vanilla until combined. Beat in as much of the flour as you can with the mixer. Using a wooden spoon, stir in any remaining flour and the chopped pecans.

2. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Place 1 inch apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

3. Bake in a 325 degree F oven 20 minutes or until bottoms are light brown. Transfer cookies to a wire rack; cool completely.

4. In each of three bowls place 1/3 cup of the sifted powdered sugar. Add a different color of edible cake sparkles or colored sugar to each bowl. Gently roll and shake cooled cookies in desired powdered sugar mixture. Makes 36.

*I didn’t have any colored sugar so I just used confectioner’s.

Source: Unknown


6 Responses to “Frosty Snowball Cookies”

  1. Christy Says:

    Congrats on the pregnancy!
    You are going to rock your Corgis’ world.
    I hope you feel better soon. Your cookies look great!

  2. Melissa Says:

    Congratulations!! Happy and healthy 9 months to you!
    Every year I want to try cookies like this, but they always get axed from my baking list at the last minute! Yours look so delicious!

  3. joelen Says:

    Congratulations and here’s wishing you happy & healthy months ahead! I love the presentation of the cookies on your cute plate – so fitting and festive!

  4. Emily Says:

    Congratulations! I am also pregnant, 10 wks, and I totally understand not wanting to eat and being too tired to cook. Here’s to getting our appetite back and a happy & healthy nine months!

  5. Warm Bunny Says:

    Ah! I LOVE these. My mother has made these every Christmas for many decades. I wish more people would make them.

  6. Jaime Says:

    I haven’t visited your site in a while, but the cookies look great and congratulations on the pregnancy!!


Leave a Reply

