Pasta with Prosciutto and Spinach

October 30, 2008

 

Here’s proof again that weeknight meals don’t have to be difficult. As soon as I saw this in the October issue of Cooking Light, I added it to my weeknight menu. Not only is it quick (took me maybe 20-25 min) but it is so good, too. The other plus is that I have leftovers for lunch. I just love it when a meal comes together so quickly and actually serves as two meals!

Pasta with Prosciutto and Spinach

Ingredients

1 (9-ounce) package fresh cheese tortellini (such as DiGiorno)
1 tablespoon pine nuts (I omitted)
1 teaspoon olive oil
6 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 (6-ounce) package fresh baby spinach
1/4 cup (1 ounce) preshredded Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
2 ounces prosciutto, thinly sliced

Preparation

1. Cook pasta according to the package directions, omitting salt and fat; drain. Transfer pasta to a large bowl.

2. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add nuts to pan; cook 1 1/2 minutes or until toasted, stirring occasionally. Add nuts to bowl.

3. Heat oil in pan over medium heat. Add garlic to pan; cook 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add spinach to pan; cook 2 minutes or until spinach wilts, stirring constantly. Add spinach mixture, cheese, and remaining ingredients to bowl; toss well.

Yield

4 servings (serving size: 1 cup)

writeNutrient();
Nutritional Information

CALORIES 292(28% from fat); FAT 9.2g (sat 3.2g,mono 2.3g,poly 1.1g); IRON 1.8mg; CHOLESTEROL 32mg; CALCIUM 103mg; CARBOHYDRATE 38.8g; SODIUM 618mg; PROTEIN 14.6g; FIBER 3.8g

Alyson Haynes, writePublicationAppearance();Cooking Light, OCTOBER 2008
7 Responses to “Pasta with Prosciutto and Spinach”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I tried this one out as well when I got my Cooking Light. I agree, it is a winner. I modified it a little and put the prosciutto in with the garlic to crisp it up a little and let the flavor of the prosciutto get into everything else. I will definitely be making this one again.

  2. Jodi Says:

    I have been wanting to try prosciutto as the store I shop at actually has it! I’ve been meaning to buy tortellini lately too, so a perfect combination.

  3. katie102006 Says:

    Mmmm… I LOVE prosciutto!

  4. Cate Says:

    This looks absolutely PERFECT for dinner tonight!

  5. Christine Says:

    This looks so delicious!

  6. A Says:

    Oh, my! Your recipes on this site look so, so good! Thank you for sharig these!

  7. Andrew C Says:

    Great recipe! I’ve made this several times, and it’s one of our go-to meals. Really easy to make, and delicious. It’s just right to feed the two of us.


Leave a Reply

