Pesto Turkey Paninis

October 6, 2008

This post is just the beginning of what I’d like to call “take it easy in the kitchen week”. I have come down with a cold. It happens to me every year around this time. I guess it’s something in the air. I have had zero appetite for the past few days, but I’m actually starting to feel a little better. I had been planning to make these sandwiches this week anyway so I thought they would be a perfect easy dinner tonight.

But my cold isn’t the only thing that will be keeping me out of the kitchen. I’m having all four of my wisdom teeth removed this week. And let me tell you, I’m thrilled. Thrilled to have the surgery, thrilled to deal with the pain, and just thrilled that I get to eat applesauce and soup for a week. In fact, I may not even be reading any blogs this week because looking at all the great foods that I can’t eat will just be torturing myself. I plan on stocking the freezer and pantry with frozen pizzas and sandwich fixings for my husband. I doubt I’ll be cooking a whole meal for him each night especially when I can’t even eat it.

So back to these paninis. So simple and so good. Here’s how I made them.

Pesto Turkey Paninis

1 small loaf italian bread, sliced into 1/4″-1/2″ slices
sliced deli turkey
sliced onion
sliced tomato
sliced provolone or mozzarella cheese (feta would also be great)
basil pesto

Place turkey, cheese, tomato and onion on one piece of bread. Spread the pesto on another slice and place on top of the other ingredients. Spray a pan with cooking spray and heat over medium heat. Place sandwiches in the pan and place another skillet on top. Set a couple cans in the top skillet to weigh it down. Flip the sandwich after two minutes and again place the skillet with the cans on top. Cook another two minutes or until bread is toasted and cheese is melted.

*Alternately you can use a panini press or other sandwich maker, but I don’t have one so I improvised.

3 Responses to “Pesto Turkey Paninis”

  1. Kate Says:

    I love the faux panini press. Very creative. Alton Brown would be pleased to see you don’t own a unitasker.

  2. Amber Says:

    When I made paninis last week I used my double burner grill pan from crate and barrel and then weighted them down just like you did. Your paninis look delicious.

  3. kayte Says:

    genius! i don’t have a panini press either and i always thought i couldn’t make a panini without one. now i know i can! these look super yummy.


Leave a Reply

