Breaking News! I Made Bread!

August 25, 2008

I know, I can’t believe it either. Let me start out by saying, I am not a bread baker. I’ve done it once, but I have still always been a little afraid of baking with yeast. I always feel like it’s a lot of work, only to possibly end up with a disappointing result. So basically, I don’t trust myself with yeast. : P When I saw this recipe, I thought “hey, maybe I could do that”. I’ve been stuck inside today thanks to the monsoon that is outside my door, so I figured what better day to try it out.

I wish blogs had a virtual smell feature so that you could smell my house right now. ::Sniff:: Ahh, nothing better than the smell of fresh bread. It was killing me to have to sit here and smell it while it baked in the crock pot. Yep, I said crock pot. That’s why I decided to try this recipe. I thought it would be easy. And it was! I do think that I would probably turn it on low after an hour and a half-two hours. You can see mine got a little um, toasty, on the bottom. But other than that, it tastes amazing! I’ve already had two slices.

Thanks to Jenn for posting this recipe.

See you in 3 hours little bread loaf

Classic White Bread
101 More Things To Do With A Slow cooker
Stephanie Ashcraft and Janet Eyring
10-15 servings

INGREDIENTS:
1 envelope (.25 ounce) of active dry yeast
1 tsp sugar
1/4 cup warm water
1 egg
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup lukewarm water
1tsp salt
1/4 cup sugar
3 1/2 to 4 cups flour

DIRECTIONS:
In a bowl combine yeast, 1 tsp sugar, and 1/4 cup warm water. Allow yeast to foam, about 5 minutes.
Add egg, oil, lukewarm water, salt, 1/4 cup sugar, and 2 cups of flour. Beat with an electric mixer for 2 minutes on low.
With a wooden spoon, stir i remaining flour.
Place dough in greased 4-5 quart slow cooker. Cover and cook on high heat for 2-3 hours. Remove stoneware from cooker and let stand for 5 minutes before slicing.

5 Responses to “Breaking News! I Made Bread!”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I never knew you could make bread in a slow cooker! Maybe I’ll make a first time attempt at bread making this week.

  2. LizzyBee Says:

    Oh I can’t WAIT to try this!!

    I must admit yeast scares me a bit too…

  3. Amber Says:

    Congratulations!! It looks amazingly delicious.

  4. katie102006 Says:

    AWESOME! Go Shoon! 🙂

  5. Melissa Says:

    Bread intimidates me too, yours looks great though!


Leave a Reply

