Chicken Parmesan Pasta

August 14, 2008

This is one of those dishes that isn’t fancy and it’s not pretty. But when you eat it you just think “comfort food”. It’s also one of my husband’s favorite kind of meals. Pasta with cheese and sauce. What can I say, it’s the simple things for him. A local place here makes a dish similar to this that my husband always orders when we go there, so I decided I would make up my own rendition. It’s very simple but very good and one of the few foods which he will actually eat the leftovers.

Chicken Parmesan Pasta

For the chicken:

2 chicken breasts, pounded thin
1 cup italian style bread crumbs
1 cup grated parmesan cheese
2 eggs, beaten
salt and pepper

For the pasta:

8 oz penne
24 oz jar of marinara sauce
1 cup chopped baby spinach (You can omit this if you like. I add this to most pasta dishes because it’s a good way to get my picky husband to eat a vegetable.)
1 cup shredded mozzarella

Preheat oven to 375. Set up three shallow bowls; one with the parmesan cheese, one with the eggs, and one with the bread crumbs. Salt and pepper both sides of your chicken breasts. Dip one chicken breast in the parmesan and pat to coat it with the cheese. Then dip it in the egg and then the bread crumbs. Be sure to coat it well. Do this for the other remaining chicken breast and place them in a baking dish. Bake for 20-25 min until chicken is no longer pink. Broil on each side 2 min for a crispier crust. Remove from the oven and let sit about 10 minutes. Cut into 1″ cubes.

While the chicken is cooking, you can prepare the pasta. Boil water for the pasta and cook until al dente and then drain. In a large pot, combine the jar of sauce, chicken that has been cut into cubes, penne, and spinach. Stir to coat the pasta with the sauce. Add mozzarella cheese and stir. Let heat through about 5-10 minutes.

11 Responses to “Chicken Parmesan Pasta”

  1. Brooke Says:

    Mmmmmm….this sounds really good. I think my whole fam would like this.

  2. Maryanna Says:

    That sounds great. I love pasta AND chicken parmessan.

  3. Ally Says:

    Oh man does that sound and look good, I so wish I had that for dinner tonight!

  4. LizzyBee Says:

    This sounds very yummy, I am going to put the ingredients on my grocery list right now!! Thanks for sharing…

  5. joelen Says:

    Yum – pasta and cheese are a must together!

  6. Kira Says:

    I’ve been adding spinach to a lot of things lately as well. It’s a great trick!

  7. Lindsey Says:

    Comforting and delicious is right! This looks/sounds great 🙂


  8. What is it with husbands that won’t eat leftovers? Mine is the same way. Dish sounds like perfect comfort food. 🙂

  9. Bunny Says:

    It doesn’t have to be complicated to be good,i like meals like this. This is good home cooking in my opinion!

  10. Amber Says:

    This sounds delicious! I bet it’s great comfort food. yum!

  11. Melissa Says:

    Im going to make this today, cept im goign to do a little bit differently, and hope it works out 🙂 I’m going to heat the sauce and put the penne on a plate then pour the sauce center of the plate, then cheese around the sauce, and on the penne and then put it on the center of the plate, then top it with the chiken in slices. i guess im going for pretty. But it sounds good 🙂

    This will be my first time preparing this, but the second time eating it 🙂 !


Leave a Reply

