Restaurant Challenge #2: Cuban Delights Cafe

August 2, 2008

You were probably thinking that I had given up on my restaurant challenge already, but that’s not the case. My husband and I were both sick last month and then I was out of town two weekends in a row. But now we’re back to it! I have been wanting to try this Cuban restaurant for a while now because it had been recommended to me by one of my co-workers. Needless to say, my husband was a little hesitant. Remember, he’s the cheeseburger and pasta kinda guy. Anyway, I told him we must go to this restaurant last night. So he finally agreed.

Anytime a restaurant featuring a specific type of cuisine opens in a small town like ours, I always wonder how authentic it can really be. I was really surprised when we went into Cuban Delights and found that it is actually owned by a Cuban! It’s a very small restaurant with about 10 tables and a bar at the back. They serve traditional Cuban food and also offer coffee and espresso. Since I had never had Cuban food before, I decided to go with something basic and ordered the Ropa Vieja. It came with rice, black beans, and maduros which are fried plantains. The black beans were seasoned with onions and cilantro and were more like a soup than the way I normally eat black beans. And I also discovered I love fried plantains! It was way more food than I could ever eat but it was so good! My husband ordered the Vacca Frita, which is shredded beef with red and green peppers and onions.  His also came with rice, black beans, and tostones. Even my husband, the picky eater loved it! The staff was very friendly and the owner asked us how everything was and asked us to come back again.

I would definitely go back to this place and try some of their other dishes.

Price: $

Atmosphere: Casual

Reservations required: No

Location: Auburn, AL

4 Responses to “Restaurant Challenge #2: Cuban Delights Cafe”

  1. joelen Says:

    We love Cuban cuisine! My fave cuban spot in the city is near by and it’s so affordable… full meals are less than $7! I actually prefer maduros over tostones because I like the sweetness of the maduros. And yes, their black beans is not “dry” its tradionally served wet and I like it best when mixed with rice 🙂

  2. Cate Says:

    Cuban food is awesome…and fried plantains are surprisingly delicious! I wish we had a cuban restaurant near here.

  3. Stephanie Says:

    I ADORE Cuban food. My husband is Cuban so I feel like I was raised on Cuban food. The funny this is that you guys ordered exactly what my husband and I would have ordered. Ropa Vieja is my absolute favorite Cuban dish. I’m glad you guys liked it!

  4. Elly Says:

    YUM. Cuban cuisine is one of our favorites, too. I love ropa vieja and I could eat fried plantains all.day.long.


Leave a Reply

