His and Hers

July 31, 2008

My husband and I are pretty much alike. We like the same tv shows, the same movies, the same home decor, and the same music. The one thing we normally don’t agree on is food. I love fruit, vegetables, low-fat yogurt, and pretty much anything good for you. He doesn’t. He loves pasta with cream sauce and cheeseburgers. Oh and don’t forget his relationship with Lil’ Debbie. And the differences don’t stop there. We are never able to order a pizza without doing half and half. Most of the time when I make pizza at home it’s the same way. Last night was no different. I had decided I wanted to use up some of my basil and I had some fresh tomatoes. I thought a margherita pizza would be great but I knew my husband wouldn’t touch it. So I decided to do spinach, pesto, and feta on his side. Both sides turned out great. And it was a quick dinner because I already had the dough in the freezer from when I had made some about a month ago. There really is no recipe for this. Very simple but really good!

Margherita Pizza

(makes one whole pizza)

1 medium tomato, thinly sliced

1/2 cup basil leaves, washed and dried

mozzarella cheese (as much as you want…I would never tell you how much cheese to put on your pizza.)

olive oil, about 1 Tbsp

2 cloves of garlic, pressed or finely minced

crust of your choice (I used this recipe)

Combine the garlic and olive oil in a bowl. Brush your crust with the garlic and olive oil. Put a thin layer of cheese on the crust, to keep it from getting soggy from the tomatoes. Next, do a layer of tomatoes. Then comes the basil leaves. Top with additional mozzarella. Bake at 450 for 12-14 min or until the crust is golden brown and the cheese is bubbly.

3 Responses to “His and Hers”

  1. Joelen Says:

    Mmmm… the toppings you chose sounds awesome. I’m already a fan of Margherita pizzas but the spinach/pesto/feta is something I’d like to try for a change! Thanks for sharing 🙂


  2. I know what you mean about husbands and their “opposite” tastes! I think my husband would order Chinese take-out every night of the week if I let him. These pizzas look like a happy medium between my desire for something healthy and his desire for massive amounts of melted cheese!

    Thanks as always for your great posts!

  3. Amber Says:

    MY husband and I usually disagree on toppings too. He usually wants Italian sausage and I hate the fennel seed in it so I have to get something else. Your mixed identity pizza looks delicious.


Leave a Reply

