Pancakes

July 29, 2008

In case any of you didn’t know, the other loves in my life other than my husband and cooking, are my two silly Pembroke Corgis, Tag and Riley. I’ve had Tag since he was just a tiny puppy of nine weeks old. Despite being a holy terror the first year of his life, he’s also the sweetest, most inquisitive little dog you’ve ever seen. He’s the reason I fell in love with Corgis. So about a year ago, we got Riley, who was two and a half at the time. She’s also as sweet as can be, but has a totally different personality than Tag.

No one in our area really has Corgis, let alone knows what they are, so I was surprised when the tech at our vet’s office told me she had Corgis growing up. She asked me if had ever read Corgiville Fair by Tasha Tudor. I had no idea there were any books written about Corgis so I was immediately interested. I found the book online along with Corgiville Christmas and also a cookbook by the same author. I thought the books would be really cute to have to read to my future children (oh who am I kidding…they’re for me!), so I put them all on my Christmas list last year.

I decided yesterday morning that I wanted to make some pancakes for breakfast. Instead of going online to look up a recipe I decided to pull out my cookbooks and find a recipe. I opened up my Tasha Tudor cookbook, which contains many of her family recipes, and is also beautifully illustrated by the way, and found this recipe for pancakes. They turned out really good! The recipe didn’t make quite as many as it stated but that could have been because I like my pancakes big. ; P

Waffles or Pancakes

1 1/2 cups unbleached flour

3 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 teaspoons sugar

2 farm-fresh eggs, at room temperature

1 1/4 cups milk

3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Sift into a bowl the flour, baking powder, salt and sugar. Beat the eggs lightly in a second mixing bowl. Stir in the milk and the melted butter. Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients and blend.

To make pancakes, spoon the batter onto a hot, greased griddle or skillet. When the tops are bubbly, turn them and cook the other side until nicely brown. Place the pancakes on a warm plate and serve immediately.

To make waffles, spoon the batter into a preheated waffle iron. The waffles will be cooked when steam no longer rises from the waffle iron. Serve immediately on warm plates.

Makes 14 4-inch pancakes or 6 waffles.

The Tasha Tudor Cookbook, page 39

And here’s a picture of my little rascals…just because they’re so darn cute.

5 Responses to “Pancakes”

  1. Joelen Says:

    Your furbabies are adorable!… and those pancakes look awesome. I’m seriously thinking of making some tomorrow for breakfast since I’ve seen pancakes on so many blogs recently!

  2. Kathy Says:

    Tasha Tudor was such an inspiration! She just recently passed away and the world is an emptier place. I give her books as gifts often because they are so gentle and beautiful.

  3. Melissa Says:

    Your dogs are so cute! Your pancakes look good too. 🙂

  4. Christy Says:

    I have been a lurker on your site for awhile because I love your recipes. When I saw your cute babies, I just had to comment because we just got an 8 week old baby Corgi 5 days ago! They are precious!

  5. Charlotte Says:

    I have a Corgi, too! Aren’t they fun? If you want to read another book with a Corgi in it, and you like mysteries, there’s a whole series by Rita Mae Brown and Sneaky Pie Brown (Sneaky Pie is a cat). The books are hilarious–the cats and dogs talk to each other and usually end up solving the mysteries, but the people don’t have any idea. 🙂


Leave a Reply

