Weekend Trip

July 22, 2008

My husband and I decided to take a little weekend trip down to my sister-in-law’s. She lives near Gulf Shores so we thought it would be a perfect opportunity to visit the beach and also visit with our nieces. Each time we visit there we normally go to one of our favorite restaurants, the Original Oyster House. It has great seafood and and a wonderful coastal atmosphere. But instead, we decided to try a new place this time. After we hit the beach on Saturday, we decided to go to Lulu’s. Lulu’s used to be just a little shack down by the water in Mobile, AL, where all the locals would go, but the restaurant has since been moved and expanded in Gulf Shores, AL. What’s interesting about the restaurant is that the owner, Lulu, is Lucy Buffet, Jimmy Buffet’s sister. In fact, Jimmy has mentioned Lulu and her bar, in one of his newest songs, Bama Breeze. The restaurant has a great, open-air atmosphere and they play music by who else, Jimmy Buffet. In fact, Jimmy still shows up every now and then to play music at the restaurant. 

I ended up ordering the fried green tomato blt which was awesome and fattening, but if you ever happen to visit there you must order the crab melt. My sister-in-law ordered that and let me try it. All I can say is it’s heaven on a plate. An open-faced sandwich with crab and tons of melted cheese. Delicious! We also went back to another great seafood place while we were there. R&R seafood, which I’ve mentioned before, is a little hole in the wall place by the bay that serves fresh seafood. My husband and I both got the shrimp po’ boys again and I also tried the gumbo this time, which was very good.

So now we’re back home and it’s time to detox from all the insanely fattening fried food we ate over the weekend. But it was sooo worth it!

Here are a few more pictures from our trip…

My husband with our oldest niece, riding go carts at the track.

And with our youngest niece, in the bumper boats.

3 Responses to “Weekend Trip”

  1. bethany Says:

    Aw, I hate I missed you! I almost always order the fried green tomato BLT. My husband ALWAYS orders the crab melt! Everyone loves it… definitely a good choice! See you next time. 🙂

  2. Sara Says:

    I’m so jealous! I’m from that area. I wish I was at the beach this weekend. Next time you’re in that area, you have to get the bananas foster french toast at Spot of Tea in downtown Mobile. It’s amazing!

  3. Charlotte Says:

    Oh, I miss Gulf Shores! My family used to go there every year for spring break. My grandparents lived in Fairhope, which was nearby, so it was a good chance to see them and take a vacation all at the same time. Our favorite restaurant was Sea-n-Suds. It was our first stop when we got to the beach, and usually we’d make a second trip there later in the week. I haven’t been there since my step-grandmother’s memorial service, which was about 10 years ago. On that visit, a friend told us to try King Neptune’s Seafood Restaurant, which was also really good. Now I’m hungry for seafood…


Leave a Reply

