Chocolate Ice Cream is Not My Thing

July 6, 2008

Go ahead. Call me crazy, but I just don’t like chocolate ice cream. I have on occasion eaten some Rocky Road or Triple Brownie, but as far as plain old chocolate ice cream. You can have it. Give me strawberry or vanilla any day. But my husband–he loves it. It’s his favorite ice cream and he could probably eat it by the buckets. Since he got me the Kitchen Aid ice cream attachment for my birthday, I figured I’d break it in by making him some of his favorite ice cream. I have actually never made homemade ice cream so I was looking for a super simple, idiot proof recipe for my first time. I came across this recipe online and figured I couldn’t screw it up too much. My husband upon finding out that I was making chocolate ice cream instantly wanted to taste test it for me, but I told him he had to wait for it to freeze first. Well, first thing this morning he dug right in with a spoon. And the results? “It tastes like chocolate ice cream!” So according to my husband, the chocolate ice cream connoisseur, this is a good recipe. I’m just happy that is was so easy and that it turned out! Now to make myself some strawberry.

Chocolate Ice Cream

(I doubled the following amounts)

Ingredients:
5 tablespoons of cocoa
1 can (large) condensed milk
1/2 pint (250ml) milk

Mix together the milk and condensed milk. Dissolve the cocoa in a little hot water. When fully dissolved stir it into the milk/condensed milk mixture.

Transfer mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.

(20-30 min in the KA ice cream maker)

Source: icecreamrecipes.com

5 Responses to “Chocolate Ice Cream is Not My Thing”

  1. Joelen Says:

    I have yet to use condensed milk in an ice cream recipe so this is definitely one I’ll need to try! I can’t believe its just 3 ingredients too. Well done of breaking in your ice cream maker… and be warned, once you start, you just can’t stop šŸ™‚

  2. Ally Says:

    I think you need to go to the dr. I mean, how, HOW can you not like chocolate ice cream? ; p
    J/k
    It looks awesome, and I’m sure your hubby loves you for it!

  3. ellysaysopa Says:

    This looks great, and I am just like you. I much prefer strawberry or vanilla over chocolate ice cream…though I wouldn’t turn down ice cream of any variety. I don’t think I can make it through the blogosphere any more without an ice cream maker. I’m so jealous!

  4. Amber Says:

    This looks incredible!!

  5. Jaime Says:

    have you tried chocolate ice cream w/PB swirled in? mmmmmmm


Leave a Reply

