Bunches and Bunches of Basil!

July 6, 2008

Remember this? I started this little herb garden the end of May hoping for the best since my track record with growing things isn’t so good. Well I am happy to report that since then my basil plant has more than doubled in size! It’s seriously taking over! I may actually have to move it to another pot so my poor little parsley can have some room to grow. And while I’m happy to have thriving, living basil, I had to find something to do with all of it. So I decided to make what else? Pesto! I had made this recipe at a Pampered Chef party before and it was really good so I decided to go with that. I just doubled the recipe but you could easily triple or quadruple it if you want to make more. Here’s how I made it.

The Pampered Chef Basil Walnut Pesto

1 cup lightly packed fresh basil

1/4 cup toasted walnuts

1 oz. grated fresh Parmesan cheese

1/4 cup olive oil

2 garlic cloves

*pinch of salt (I added this)

(I made mine in the food processor but the original instructions involve utilizing several of the Pampered Chef products. I also doubled this recipe.)

Begin by toasting the walnuts in a skillet over med/lo heat, about 5 minutes or until you can smell the nuts toasting. Wash and dry the basil leaves and place into a food processor. Add the toasted walnuts and pulse until you have a coarse paste. Add in the grated parmesan and garlic cloves. Again, pulse until all ingredients are uniform. With the food processor running, slowly pour in the olive oil. Taste for seasoning and add a pinch of salt if needed.

*Doubled recipe makes about 3/4 cup

*You can divide this pesto up in ice trays and freeze. Once frozen, remove from ice trays and store in a freezer bag for easy use in other recipes.

Source for original recipe: Season’s Best Recipe Collection, page 10

4 Responses to “Bunches and Bunches of Basil!”

  1. Sara Says:

    Hi! I’m new here and love it. I’ll be subscribing. As an Alabama girl living in Texas, I love all things food! Have a happy Sunday.

  2. Joelen Says:

    This is a great recipe! I like using walnuts every once in a while instead of pine nuts (and its more afforable too!) 🙂

  3. Cate Says:

    Yum! I’ve never made pesto with walnuts but it looks great!

  4. Jaime Says:

    i started growing basil this summer too – i’ve been delighted as how easy it is to grow and fast it grows! it’s so nice to be able to cook w/it whenever i want to now 🙂


Leave a Reply

