Healthy Banana Muffins

June 3, 2008

I’m a planner. Planning is what I do. I’m not always proud to admit it. I wish I could say I’m a crazy, spontaneous person, but that’s just not me. I plan my meals each week before I go to the store. When we go on vacation, I plan my outfits for each day so I don’t over pack. And many times on my days off, I plan my baking. See, I love to bake but I feel like I need a plan for the baked goods that result from my baking. Normally, the plan is to take most of what I bake to work. Or if I know someone is coming over for dinner, I plan my baking around that. Well today I needed a plan for the two very brown bananas just sitting on my counter. You know the ones that are way too ripe to eat but that are still perfect for baking. My husband calls them “rotten” if they even have a spot of brown on the skin, but I always save them for the sole purpose of making banana bread or muffins. So the plan was to make banana muffins to have for breakfast this week. I used a recipe that I’ve used before for healthy apple muffins and just subbed the bananas. I really love this recipe because it’s so versatile and so tasty too. I’m very much looking forward to my planned breakfast for the week.

Healthy Banana Muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour (I used 3/4 cup)

1/2 cup all purpose flour ( I used 3/4 cup)

1/2 cup granulated sugar (you can use a combo of brown & white if you’d like)

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup chopped nuts (almonds, walnuts, pecans…whatever you prefer)

1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

dash or two of nutmeg

1 egg

3/4 cup skim milk

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1 cup mashed bananas

Preheat oven to 400*

Using a whisk, combine all your dry ingredients in one bowl: whole wheat and AP flour, sugar, baking soda and powder, salt, nuts, spices).

Beat the egg lightly in a separate bowl. Whisk in milk, applesauce, vanilla to the eggs.

Whisk wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Fold bananas in.

Divide the batter among a greased or paper-lined muffin tin.

Bake for about 18 minutes  or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Source: Elly Says Opa!

11 Responses to “Healthy Banana Muffins”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Mmm..these look delicious! I’ve been looking for a good banana recipe — we’re repeat offenders, ending each week with 2 bananas on the counter!

  2. Joelen Says:

    Thanks for sharing this! It looks great and healthy!

  3. Ally Says:

    Yum, the recipe looks fantastic. I have to save it to make when I have rotten bananas.

  4. Amber Says:

    These look great! Thanks for sharing.

  5. janelle Says:

    yummy!!! these totally rock!

  6. Sarah Says:

    As a southern girl living abroad, I often crave the food of my childhood. Your blog is fabulous! I tried this healthy banana muffin two weeks ago and loved it. I brought a batch to some of my colleagues at work and they were a huge hit! I didn’t tell them they were healthy until after they raved about them. So delicious! I am making another batch tomorrow. Healthy muffins are my new hobby… thanks for helping me add to my go-to recipe list.

  7. Talia Says:

    Good recipe… I added ground flax seeds to this and it was great! Added an extra nutty flavor…

  8. Lisa Memolo Says:

    I just baked these healthy muffins, i added ground cocoa roasted almonds and they came out perfect. Kinda spongy, my husband gave me a personal compliment. He says this is the recipe to make. Thank for sharing 🙂

  9. Vegas710 Says:

    Thanks for the recipe, I found it on a google search. The muffins turned out pretty good. They had a bit of a thin , chewy outer layer that I’ve found with some other recipes. I can’t figure out what that is, if they are supposed to be that way or if it’s something I’m doing.
    Anyway, they tasted great. I sprinkled a little cinnamon sugar on top before baking!

  10. Stefanie Says:

    I made these muffins and love them! I changed a little by using all wheat flour and honey instead of sugar. The were moist and very flavorful! I will be making these again! Thanks! 🙂

  11. Phil Says:

    Well I actually tried these and man they were yuuuuumy! I don’t mean to be hater but people shouldn’t put comments on here until they have tried it.

    🙂


Leave a Reply

