Hardly a garden

May 28, 2008

I’ve mentioned before that my great-grandparents were all farmers in south Georgia. That’s how they made their living for many, many years. Somehow along the line, their green thumb passed me by. It’s a well known fact that I don’t do well taking care of plants. For instance the ivy from my wedding that I fully intended on keeping for years to come as a keepsake…dead within 2 weeks. The little maple tree my mother-in-law gave me to someday plant in our yard…may it rest in peace. So why am I now trying to grow herbs? Ever since I really got into cooking I’ve started using more fresh herbs in my dishes. Well have you seen the price of some herbs lately? Not to mention the price of everything else at the grocery store. So I decided I wanted to give herb growing a try. I figured I’d start small and simple, knowing my track record with growing things, and just try sweet basil and parsley to begin with. It’s hardly an herb garden, but it’s a start. It’s only been a couple days since I’ve had them and so far so good. If I can keep these alive and actually be able to use them, I will feel very accomplished! I might even try a bigger garden next year.  I just hope I don’t forget to water them. : P

4 Responses to “Hardly a garden”

  1. Chelle Says:

    Oh Renea, I so totally sympathize with you. I kill everything – a little pine plant that my husband had bought when he got his first apartment 5 years ago I killed while he was traveling for work for almost a month straight. While on vacation in Florida a couple of weeks ago I bought an indoor palm plant – they grow to be 4-5 feet high. It’s very small right now… Nick left yesterday to go out of town and said, “Do NOT kill my palm tree while I’m gone!” Your basil looks beautiful though!! Did you get starter plants, or use seeds? If you got plants, where did you get them?

  2. aggieashley07 Says:

    Your mini-herb garden looks great! I planted Basil and Parsley too but yours already look better than mine!!


  3. […] this? I started this little herb garden the end of May hoping for the best since my track record with […]


  4. […] 21, 2009 How does my garden grow? Well I guess I’ll let you know in a few weeks. I grew herbs for the first time last year and they did very well much to my surprise. I do NOT have a green […]


Leave a Reply

