My first for real cheesecake

May 27, 2008

I love it when a plan comes together. I think someone from the A-Team said that originally, but for the purpose of this post, this statement works for me too. : ) I have been wanting to make a “for real” cheesecake with my new spring form pan for a while now. And by for real I mean, homemade crust, homemade filling and baked in a spring form pan type of cheesecake. The ones I’ve made before were made with a pre-made crust so they weren’t truly homemade in my mind. I had the perfect excuse to make my “for real” cheesecake this weekend. Some friends of ours asked us to come over to help them with some projects in their new house and in exchange they were grilling out for us for dinner. I offered to bring a dessert, not because I wanted to be nice, but because I was secretly yearning to bake this cheesecake and I needed a reason to justify making it. (just kidding of course) Somehow I was stuck on making a peanut butter cheesecake but as usual, I had no recipe in mind. I googled peanut butter cheesecake and found a few recipes that were okay, but sounded more complicated than what I was wanting to do for my first for real cheesecake. So I decided to use a recipe I have used before but make my own crust and just add in what I wanted. I was nervous about how it would turn out since I’m pretty novice when it comes to cheesecakes, but thankfully it all worked out! It was very rich but very good. Definitely a keeper.

Chocolate Chip Peanut Butter Cheesecake

3 tablespoons butter, melted
1 1/4 cups graham cracker crumbs (I used chocolate graham crackers)
1 tablespoon white sugar
3 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese

1 cup creamy peanut butter
3 eggs
3/4 cup white sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

2. In a small bowl, combine the melted butter, graham cracker crumbs and 1 tablespoon sugar. Press into the bottom of a 9 inch springform pan. Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes. Allow to cool.

3. In a large bowl, cream the 3/4 cup of sugar and cream cheese together until smooth. Stir in peanut butter until combined. Add eggs, one at a time, and vanilla. Pour into the spring form pan.

4. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 45 minutes. Let cool. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

(I baked mine in a water bath to prevent cracking)

5 Responses to “My first for real cheesecake”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    That looks absolutely amazing. I HAVE to try this recipe 🙂

  2. Melissa Says:

    Mmmm looks delicious! Making real cheesecake intimidates me, but you make it looks so easy!

  3. adamswife06 Says:

    Looks yummy!

  4. aggieashley07 Says:

    Ummmm the cheesecake looks so good!! I know my hubby and I would love this!

  5. Amber Says:

    This looks AMAZING! I could go for a piece of this right about now (even though it is not even 9AM yet). 🙂


Leave a Reply

