Another one on the list

April 29, 2008

Please excuse my cell phone photo. A friend of ours is borrowing our camera so I was forced to be resourceful and use my cell phone to take pictures tonight. But these cookies were just too good not to be posted. I came across this recipe on Loves to Eat a couple weeks ago and instantly knew I wanted to try them. You can check out her photo to see how good these cookies really look. I’m normally not really big on butterscotch flavored desserts, but I do love it in oatmeal scotchies. And these definitely didn’t disappoint. In fact I think I’m adding these to my list of favorite cookie recipes. They are perfectly chewy which is always a good cookie in my book.

Oatmeal Scotchies with Chocolate Chips

Ingredients:

1 and 1/4 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. gr. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1 cup (2 sticks) butter

3/4 cups granulated sugar

3/4 cup packed brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

3 cups quick or old fashioned oats

1 bag butterscotch chips (I used 1/2 bag)

1 bag chocolate chips semi-sweet (I used 1/2 bag)

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 375

Combine flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a small bowl. Beat butter, sugars, eggs, and vanilla in a large mixer bow. Gradually beat in flour mixture, Sire in oats and chips. Drop a rounded, full tbsp. onto an ungreased baking sheet.

Bake for 7 to 8 minutes for chewy cookies. Cool on baking sheet for 2 minutes. Remove and cool on wire racks. Serve with a cold glass of milk!

2 Responses to “Another one on the list”

  1. bethany Says:

    Yum! Of all the cookies I’ve made, I have never made scotchies…I’ll have to try these!

  2. jj Says:

    These looks great … I’ve made oatmeal with chocolate chips and oatmeal cookies with butterscotch, but never tried a combination of the two chips! Love that idea and am definitely going to try this over the weekend, thanks!


Leave a Reply

