Shrimp Po’boys

April 28, 2008

First of all I’ll start off by saying, this is not my picture. These smelled so good after I cooked them, that we ate them too fast for me to take my own picture. I guess that must be a really good sign. So I apologize for not using my own picture, but I wanted you to envision the deliciousness that was my dinner tonight. : )

My husband and I were visiting my sister-in-law in Mobile, AL last weekend and she mentioned a little seafood place where her husband gets great po’boys so of course my husband had to have one while we were there. In fact, we made a special trip on the way home just to get a shrimp po’boy from this place. Picture a little hole in the wall place, right by the bay, and the smell of freshly cooked shrimp and crawfish wafting through the door before you even step inside. Well, the shrimp po’boys at this little place were as good as she said they were. And since we’ve been back home, I’ve really been craving one. I had some shrimp in the freezer so I decided I’d give them a shot and try to make them myself. They turned out fantastic! If you’ve never had a shrimp po’boy you should definitely try one. Of course if you can get really fresh shrimp like we had last weekend, then they’re even better but if not, frozen works just fine.

Shrimp Po’boys

16-18 medium shrimp, peeled and deveined(thawed if frozen)

1/2 cup bread crumbs

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp paprika

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

2 eggs

olive oil or veg oil for frying

1 small loaf french or italian bread

Begin by setting up two shallow bowls. Beat the eggs in one bowl. In the second bowl, combine the bread crumbs, salt, pepper, paprika, and cayenne pepper. Begin by dipping the shrimp in the egg and then into the bread crumbs. Dip them again into the egg and then again into the bread crumbs. Heat a skillet over medium heat and add enough oil to cover the bottom of the pan. Pan fry the shrimp 2-3 minutes or until golden brown on each side. Work in batches of 3-4 to prevent burning. Place shrimp on a plate lined with a paper towel to absorb any excess oil. Pile the shrimp on toasted italian or french bread with your favorite toppings. (I use cocktail sauce, lettuce and tomato on mine. I also brush the sliced bread with a little butter before toasting.)

Makes two sandwiches.

Topping ideas:

cocktail sauce

tartar sauce

lettuce

tomato

onions

pickles

*Picture courtesy of myrecipes.com
3 Responses to “Shrimp Po’boys”

  1. dawn Says:

    oh no! I just love Po’boys. And no one in this bloggie-eat-bloggie world has po’boys. I feel better knowing there is another blogger that loves them just as much as I do. Nice work, and even nicer pic!
    Thanks for sharing

  2. Brianna Says:

    well, your pic or not, these sandwiches look amazing!! I’ve never tried to make them myself, but I’ve ordered something similar at a restaurant before and it might be time to try it myself 🙂


  3. […] went back to another great seafood place while we were there. R&R seafood, which I’ve mentioned before, is a little hole in the wall place by the bay that serves fresh seafood. My husband and I both got […]


Leave a Reply

