Like Nana used to make

April 13, 2008

It’s finally that time of year when tomatoes are coming back into season and don’t cost a fortune to buy. And it’s a good thing too because I’ve been having such a craving for a tomato sandwich. My grandma used to make these for me all the time when I was a kid and it’s still one of my favorite things to have every once and a while. There’s no recipe to it. It’s just sliced tomato, a little mayo, salt and pepper. For some reason mine don’t taste quite as good as hers. Maybe it’s the fact that she used to cut them into four little squares for me and I slice mine diagonally. : ) I was very fortunate as a kid to spend every summer in south Georgia at my grandparents’ house. If you’ve never been to the southern part of Georgia, I’ll just tell you; it’s farm country. Flat land and fields for miles and miles. Peanuts, cotton, watermelon and cucumber patches, fields of peas everywhere you look. Both sets of my great-grandparents had farms so in the summer we’d get fresh vegetables and fruit from them, including tomatoes. There’s nothing better than a tomato sandwich made with a really fresh tomato. I really miss those days, but I think about them whenever I eat a tomato sandwich.

One Response to “Like Nana used to make”

  1. Courtney Says:

    I have to say that I have never liked a tomato. But your entry made me smile all the same. I am from South Alabama & let me tell you that tradition of fresh tomato, mayo, salt & pepper is part of my childhood as well. Though I never ate them (my mother & father devoured them in the summer time) they were a staple option at lunchtime. My parents also do the pickle thing (just sub pickle for tomato -no still can’t eat that one either 🙂 ) The summers of my memories are full of those fresh vegetables. Shelling purple hull peas until my fingernails were blue, putting up more prickly okra than any child should ever have to, & of course fields of watermelons. My dad still has this thing about planting row upon row of a vegetable! Drive my momma crazy – I think she put up so many green beans about 4 years ago that to this day she has a problem eating them. lol. Thank you for the reminder of the memories… I love your blog & have enjoyed many of your recipes! Keep the Southern cooking alive.. 🙂


Leave a Reply

