Not your average potato salad

April 11, 2008

It’s hard to believe I’m from the south and have never made potato salad. I’ve always liked it, but have always bought it from the deli counter or eaten some that other people have made. Well my husband invited my in-laws over last night to grill out and while he was in charge of the grill, I of course, was in charge of the sides. I thought potato salad would be a good side for grilled burgers. Since I knew I’d be working all day, I decided to make this potato salad the night before. This recipe is a little different in that the potatoes are roasted instead of boiled like in most potato salads. It turned out really good and everyone seemed to like it. I do think making it a day ahead really helped all the flavors to meld together nicely. I got this recipe from a cooking chat board that I frequent. Thanks ad52905 for this great recipe!

Roasted Potato Salad with Mustard Dressing
From Cooking Light

3 pounds small red potatoes, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 bacon slices (uncooked), chopped
2 cups diced Vidalia or other sweet onion (about 2 medium)
2 garlic cloves, minced
3 tablespoons Dijon mustard
2 tablespoons reduced-fat mayonnaise
1 1/2 tablespoons honey
1 1/2 tablespoons sherry vinegar(I used red wine vinegar because that’s all I had on hand)
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Preheat oven to 400°.

Combine first 4 ingredients in a large bowl; toss to coat. Arrange potatoes in a single layer on a jelly-roll pan. Bake at 400° for 40 minutes or until potatoes are tender, stirring once. Transfer potatoes to a large bowl.

Cook bacon in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat until crisp. Remove bacon from pan, reserving 1 tablespoon drippings in pan; set bacon aside. Add onion to drippings in pan; cook 15 minutes or until golden brown and caramelized, stirring frequently. Add garlic to pan; cook 30 seconds. Add onion mixture and bacon to potatoes; toss gently. Let stand 15 minutes.

Combine mustard, mayonnaise, honey, and vinegar in a small bowl; stir with a whisk. Add mustard mixture and parsley to potato mixture; toss gently.

8 servings (yield: 1 cup)

 

One Response to “Not your average potato salad”

  1. Jen Says:

    That sounds really good. I am not a huge fan of traditional potato salad but a friend gave me a recipe for roasted potato salad that just had roasted potatoes, mayo, bacon, chopped hard boiled egg, salt and pepper. It is amazing! Tastes more like a loaded baked potato….. Every time I make it people just rave over it.


Leave a Reply

