Where the magic happens

March 31, 2008

It occurred to me today as I was reading Mary Ellen’s blog post about her kitchen remodel that I have never shared with my blogging friends my kitchen remodel experience! My husband and I bought our house almost 3 years ago. Our house was built in 1967 so you can imagine the sort of work it needed. But we had a vision as soon as we stepped into our house. We knew it could be a really great house with a little work. Well, a little work turned into a lot of work and many hours of demoing, painting, tiling, and plumbing. Thankfully, my husband used to build houses and knows how to do all of this work so it saved us a ton of money. Seriously, while I know my way around the kitchen, my husband is so extremely talented when it comes to just about anything building related. The man can’t boil water but he can turn some wood and nails into something amazing!And thank goodness for his know how or else we never would have been able to accomplish all we have in our house. My favorite room that we have completed so far is, of course, the kitchen. I am so proud of it and I love everything about it. I love it so much that I wanted to share it with all of you. It’s not all new and modern, but it fits our house and our style, so that makes me happy and happy to cook in it. Here are some before and after pictures.

dscf0004.jpg
The kitchen before

dscf0010.jpg
The dining area before

img_1687.jpg
The kitchen after-we changed the cabinet hardware, put in new countertops, new appliances, a new sink, and new lighting

img_2006.jpg

My big ole sink-I wasn’t too keen on the idea of a single bowl sink to begin with but my husband talked me into it. Now I love it! It’s so easy to wash large pots and pans.

img_0477.jpg
We also put in this backsplash ourselves.

img_1677.jpg
One of my favorite parts of my kitchen, my pot rack. I love how accessible all my pots and pans are. And the best part is, I got it on sale! I also really love the color of my kitchen. It’s Sagey by Behr in case you were wondering. One of my favorite colors.

img_1683.jpg
My baker’s rack

img_1672.jpg
The dining area after-this is where we sit and eat all the dinners you see in my blog. We put the tile floor in ourselves and also did the wainscoting.

Thanks for checking out the room where I spend so much time!

2 Responses to “Where the magic happens”

  1. Mary Ellen Says:

    It looks great! I love the color on the walls.

  2. Linda Says:

    I love seeing remodeled kitchens! You guys did a wonderful job. Are you ready to take on another bathroom- maybe one in St. Louis?


Leave a Reply

