An apple a day…

March 31, 2008

If you’re starting to think that this is now just a baking blog, you might be right. It seems like that’s all I’ve been doing lately! Believe it or not, I have actually eaten real food lately but mostly salads and things I’ve blogged about before. So for now at least, you’ll have to deal with my baking posts until the cooking fairy visits me again. And this one folks is a good one! I had some puff pastry in the freezer from who knows when and it kept being pushed to the back of the freezer, lost under frozen vegetables and ice cream. Well it surfaced the other day while I was rearranging the contents of my freezer, and immediately my mind started thinking of uses for it. I finally settled on apple turnovers. You may not know this about me, but I love apples. My favorite is Gala both for the color and the taste, and I eat one almost every day. I mean what’s not to love about apples? Juicy, sweet, crisp. Mmmm And they’re even better baked into desserts. So I knew the combination of the tender, sweet apples would be perfect wrapped up in the flakey, buttery puff pastry. I basically just came up with this little recipe on my own and they turned out amazing! My husband and I both licked our plates clean. And that’s always a very good sign.

Apple Turnovers

2 medium apples (or 1 large), peeled and diced (I used Gala but Granny Smith would be great)

1/8 cup granulated sugar

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1 Tbsp flour

4-6 pats butter (just a thin slice)

2-3 Tbsp prepared cinnamon sugar (I just eye ball it and mix granulated sugar and cinnamon together. You could also buy cinnamon sugar in the spice aisle)

1 sheet puff pastry, thawed (12×9 sheet)

1 egg, beaten

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Butter a baking sheet and set aside. Carefully unfold the sheet of puff pastry on a clean, lightly floured surface. Cut into 4-6 even squares (depending on how large you want them). In a bowl, combine apple, sugar, cinnamon and flour. Spoon the mixture onto the center of each puff pastry square leaving a small border around the filling. Place 1 pat of butter on top of the filling in each pastry. Brush the edges around the filling with the beaten egg. Next, fold into triangles or rectangles, whichever you prefer. Using a fork, press the edges together to seal. Make 2 slits in the top of each pastry. Brush the top with the egg and sprinkle liberally with cinnamon sugar. Place on the baking sheet and bake for 20 min, until the pastry puffs and is golden brown. Allow to cool 5 minutes before serving.

3 Responses to “An apple a day…”

  1. Lindsey Says:

    Yum, looks great. We LOVE apple turnovers. Thanks for sharing!

  2. elly Says:

    These look SO good. I can’t tell you how much I absolutely love apple turnovers. And puff pastry 🙂

  3. Melissa Says:

    Mmmm these look delicious! BTW, I don’t think I told you that I love your new blog set-up!


Leave a Reply

