Celebrating Easter!

March 23, 2008

img_1952.jpg

Happy Easter everyone! I love Easter because it means that Spring is here. It also means yummy desserts. Each year, we spend Easter with my in-laws, going to church and eating lunch. I’m always in charge of the desserts. So this year, I decided to make decorated carrot cake cupcakes since my nieces were here and banana pudding because that’s my father-in-law’s favorite. Both were very delicious and the kids had fun picking out which cupcake they wanted to eat. They thought aunt Nay Nay did a pretty good job on the cupcakes! : ) I used the Solid Gold Carrot Cake recipe that I made a while back for the cupcakes.

img_1958.jpg

I only make banana pudding on special occasions for my father-in-law because he loves it so much. Every time I do make it, it reminds me of when I was a kid because my grandmother used to make it all the time. She made it for church dinners and family get togethers all the time. Mine isn’t nearly as good as hers was but it was still pretty darn tasty. Everyone seemed to love it.

Banana Pudding

2 packages Jello vanilla or banana flavored pudding (you can use instant or cook and serve)

1 box vanilla wafer cookies

4 medium bananas, sliced

8 oz whipped topping

Begin by preparing the pudding as directed on the box. Put a layer of pudding in the bottom of a serving dish. Add a layer of vanilla wafers, a layer of sliced bananas, and then a layer of pudding. Repeat all layers ending with a layer of the pudding. Top with whipped topping and crushed vanilla wafers. Refrigerate until ready to serve.

*Banana pudding is better the next day!

Here are the kids Easter egg hunting. They actually hid the eggs for us to hunt after they found them all. Thank goodness there are no pictures of that!

6 Responses to “Celebrating Easter!”


  1. Those cupcakes are adorable. And they look tasty too! I’m going to have to try that banana pudding one day. Thanks for sharing.

    Jane
    http://mywoodenrobot.org

  2. Lindsey Says:

    The cupcakes and banana pudding look to die for! Your nieces are adorable and it looks like you all had a great day. Happy Easter! 🙂

  3. Ally Says:

    Awww! Those are the cutest cupcakies! The girls are too cute too!

    Happy Easter!

  4. Jaime Says:

    I love banana pudding. I will have to make some soon. And the cupcakes are too cute!

  5. Amber Says:

    The cupcakes are adorable and have me craving carrot cake! The pudding looks smooth and delicious and the kiddies are cute!

  6. kayte Says:

    those cupcakes are super adorable Renea! i want one!


Leave a Reply

