Cream Biscuits

March 22, 2008

I never met a biscuit recipe that I could make…until this one. Honestly, you would think someone raised in the south where homemade biscuits are served with almost every meal, would know how to whip out some biscuits like nobody’s business. But no, there have been many a biscuit casualty in my kitchen. That’s why I was so thankful when I tried this recipe and they actually turned out! Seriously, these are the lightest, fluffiest, melt in your mouth biscuits I’ve ever eaten. And I can’t believe how simple they are. Of course, leave it to Paula Deen to come up with a fabulous biscuit recipe. If you have tried and failed at biscuit making, or have been too afraid to try, give these a shot! The key is to not handle the dough too much or they will become tough. Oh, and make sure your counter and your hands are well floured. This dough is really sticky!

Cream Biscuits (with my alterations)

2 cups self-rising flour, plus more for dusting
1 tablespoon sugar
1 1/2 cups heavy whipping cream

Preheat oven to 500 degrees F. (I do 450 degrees)In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, sugar, and cream until the dough forms a ball. Turn the dough out onto a surface dusted with additional flour. Fold the dough in 1/2 and knead 5 to 7 times, adding just enough flour to keep dough from sticking to your hands. Gently roll out dough to 1/2-inch thickness. Using a 3-inch biscuit cutter coated with flour, cut dough into biscuits. (I skip the rolling out part. I just pinch them off and form them by hand) Place on baking sheet coated with cooking spray, leaving at least 1-inch between each biscuit. Bake for 10 minutes, or until golden brown. (Bake 11-12 min at 450)

img_1936.jpg

6 Responses to “Cream Biscuits”

  1. bakingblonde Says:

    Those look so good, I love biscuits, especially with Beef Stew


  2. Those look absolutely delicious and mouthwatering!!! I’m totally putting these on my “to try” list. 🙂

  3. Jaime Says:

    those look perfectly fluffy!

  4. Amber Says:

    These look so moist, soft and fluffy. Awesome job.

  5. Mollie Says:

    Oh my goodness those look so good! I adore biscuts….

  6. melissa Says:

    these look great! i have got to try them.


Leave a Reply

