Heaven in a Brownie

March 10, 2008

Mmm, here’s one recipe that combines two of my favorite kinds of desserts; brownies and cheesecake. My husband is the inspiration for me making these heavenly brownies. He started talking about cheesecake brownies yesterday and I realized I had not made these in years. In fact, the last time I made them they were from a box. 😛 So I asked my friends over at What’s Cooking for some suggestions and got some great recipes. I decided on this one from Baking Blonde. I can always count on her for great dessert recipes. I will say that the brownie part of this recipe is really thick and kinda of hard to work with but it was well worth it. They turned out so great!

Ghirardelli Award Winning Brownies
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla
1/2 cup butter, melted
3/4 cup Ghirardelli Sweet Ground Chocolate and Cocoa (3/4 cup Hershey’s unsweetened cocoa powder)
2/3 cup unsifted flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup walnuts (I did not use)
1 cup Chocolate Chips (I used 1/2 semi sweet and 1/2 milk chocolate chips)

Preheat oven to 350.
Line 8×8 pan with foil and spray with PAM.
In bowl, stir together the eggs, sugar and vanilla. Add butter.
Sift Cocoa powder, flour, baking powder and salt. Stir into egg mixture.
Stir in chips (and nuts if using).

**Spread into pan and bake for 20-30 minutes until toothpick inserted in center comes out with a few crumbs.
Cheesecake Swirled Brownies

**If making cheesecake swirled brownies, use recipe above but only spread 2/3 batter into pan. Dollup cream cheese mixture over brownie batter in pan.
Dollup the remainin 1/3 batter on top of cheesecake mixture.
Run a knife through the brownie and cheesecake layers to create a pattern or swirls.
Bake in preheated oven for 25 minutes or until toothpick comes out with a few crumbs when inserted. Do NOT overbake

Cheesecake Swirl
7 oz cream cheese, softened
1/3 cup sugar
2 TBS flour
1 tsp pure Vanilla
1 egg

In bowl combine cream cheese, sugar, flour and vanilla beat until smooth. Add egg and beat just until combined.

img_1900.jpg

5 Responses to “Heaven in a Brownie”

  1. kayte Says:

    wow Renea! these look awesome. i have never made these because my husband and daughter don’t like cheesecake. so i dont’ want an entire pan of cheesecake brownies all to myself. but maybe i’ll make these and bring them to work. yummmm

  2. BMK Says:

    That looks so good!

  3. Amber Says:

    These look awesome Renea!!! Now I am craving brownies.

  4. Jaime Says:

    i have never made cheesecake brownies before, the swirl kind of intimidates me! these look so good!

  5. Annie Says:

    Wow, these sound really delicious. All the recipes I’ve tried from Ghirardelli have turned out great. I want to try these!
    Oh, and you make my day! http://annieseats.wordpress.com/2008/03/11/you-all-make-my-day/


Leave a Reply

