Adventures with Baby Food: Green Beans and Pumpkin

January 19, 2010

Drew is moving on to more new foods. So far he has tried carrots, sweet potatoes, sweet peas, pumpkin, and green beans. He loves them all except for the sweet peas. He was NOT a fan according to his teacher at daycare. So we’ll just have to go back to those later. I’m really glad he is trying all these new foods and liking them. As much as I love to cook, my worst nightmare is having a child that is a picky eater. I already have a husband that is! For the pumpkin, I pretty much just used canned pumpkin and mixed in it in his cereal. I froze the rest in my baby food freezer trays just like I did here.

You can see he ate it up!

For the green beans, I used frozen green beans and steamed them until they were tender. Then I pureed them in my food processor making sure to puree them well. Then I also froze them in the trays and stored them in freezer bags as I’ve done with his other foods.

One 16 oz bag makes about 14-16 1 oz servings.

I have found it to be so easy to make Drew’s food so far and it costs so much less than buying pre-packaged baby food. For instance on the green beans, I got the bag of frozen beans on sale for $1.00 and it made about 14 servings. One container of pre-packaged baby food green beans at the store is around $1.25! Granted, Drew is only eating about 1 oz of food mixed in with his cereal right now, but still the savings are huge. When I first decided to make his food I was a little nervous. Afterall, this is my first child and I really didn’t know what foods to start him off on. So while in the grocery store, I stopped by the baby food aisle and looked at the 1st foods to see what types there were. I also read a lot of articles online about making baby food as well as other blogs. So if you’re thinking about doing this too, don’t be afraid. It really is so easy and doesn’t take much time at all. Just spend a little time on the weekends preparing  the food and then pull it out of the freezer during  the week. Plus you’ll save a ton of money and you’ll know exactly what’s in your baby’s food.

One Response to “Adventures with Baby Food: Green Beans and Pumpkin”

  1. Melissa Says:

    What a cutie! I’m planning to make my own baby food when it comes time. It just doesn’t make sense not to!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

