Teriyaki Grilled Pork Chops

July 16, 2008

I’m cooking out of the freezer this week, trying to cut back on the grocery budget a little. Prices at the store keep going up and it seems like my grocery budget gets larger while my pantry and freezer get barer. When I opened the freezer this week to take stock of what I had in order to plan a menu, I saw two lonely pork chops sitting there. Not sure how long they’ve been in there but I felt they needed a purpose. I had saved this recipe on my google reader for teriyaki pork chops and thought those might be good one night. By the way if you don’t use google reader you definitely should! It helps so much with keeping up with blogs and recipes. Anyway, I had seen this on one of my favorite blogs, Annie’s Eats, and so I knew it had to be good. And Annie, I promise I don’t stalk your blog each week to see what you’ve made. : ) I guess we just like the same foods! These did turn out great! My husband and I both enjoyed them and it was such a quick dinner.

Teriyaki Grilled Pork Chops

Ingredients:

2/3 cup soy sauce

1/3 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

1/3 cup water

¼ cup rice vinegar

3 cloves garlic, finely chopped

2-inch piece fresh gingerroot, peeled and chopped fine (or 1 ½ tsp. dried ginger)

4-6 pork chops

Directions:

For the marinade, combine all ingredients except pork chops in a saucepan. Bring to a boil and stir until sugar is dissolved. Cool the marinade completely. Put the pork chops in a large resealable plastic bag and pour the marinade over them. Seal the bag, pressing out excess air. Allow chops to marinate, turning bag once or twice, at least 6 hours or up to overnight.

Pour the marinade into a saucepan and boil for 5 minutes. Grill chops on an oiled rack, approximately 7-8 minutes per side, or until just cooked through, basting with marinade during last 5 minutes of cooking.

Source: adapted from Elite Entrees, originally from Gourmet Magazine

4 Responses to “Teriyaki Grilled Pork Chops”

  1. Joelen Says:

    Wow… the glaze looks so awesome and I bet it was flavorful!

  2. mrsdanigirl8 Says:

    Yum! This looks wonderful. I have a similar recipe for chicken but I’ll definitely be trying this.

  3. adamswife06 Says:

    These sound good, I have some pork chops I was going to make next week… Maybe I will try this.

  4. kitchenbelle Says:

    These look fantastic! The glaze is mouthwatering!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

